[Iag-list] IAG news items for members, including call for council position, PG travel awards to IAG Brisbane, and final reminder of call for IAG awards

Robyn Bartel rbartel at une.edu.au
Wed Mar 8 13:51:06 AEDT 2017

Dear all,

A few news items for IAG members…

1. The IAG is calling for nominations for Council.

One position (Ordinary Councillor) will fall vacant at the IAG General Meeting in July 2017 at the IAG Conference in Brisbane:

The Councillor elected will hold office until the second succeeding General Meeting following their election, which is normally two years. They shall be eligible for immediate re-election as Councillors but with a maximum period of continuous office up to the fourth succeeding General Meeting after their initial election.

The closing date for nominations is Monday 15 May 2017.  Nominations must be received in writing using the form attached to the email sent earlier today (and apologies for cross posting), and should be emailed to rbartel at une.edu.au

Should an election be required, ballot papers will be emailed to financial members, who will have until Monday 26 June 2017 to return them to the Honorary Secretary, who will be the Returning Officer.

Results will be reported at the General Meeting in Brisbane.

2. Call for Postgraduate Travel Awards for IAG Brisbane 2017.

The IAG supports the active participation of its postgraduate members. To further this aim the IAG provides travel grants to assist eligible Research Higher Degree students to attend the annual IAG National Conference. The following describes the selection criteria and application process for postgraduate members of the IAG who wish to apply for funding to attend the Institute’s Annual Conference in Brisbane, 11-14 July, 2017.

Eligibility criteria and award conditions:

You must be:

*   a current financial member of the IAG (Note: Eligible applications from student members outside Australia will be considered);

*   enrolled on the date you apply for funding in either a Masters degree (Research) or a Doctoral degree;

*   presenting a paper at the conference; and

*   registered to attend the conference for its full duration.

Grant recipients must write a 500 word report for the IAG Council. The report should outline your participation in the conference, your reflections on the conference and detail how you spent the grant money. Your report should be submitted to the Vice-President (Past President), Prof Steve Turton s.turton at cqu.edu.au within 90 days of the conclusion of the conference.  Reports may be reproduced in part or full in the IAG Newsletter.

How to apply for funding:

You must complete the Postgraduate Travel Grant Application Form available from

https://www.iag.org.au/postgraduates/travel-grants-for-post-graduates/  and email it to IAG Vice President Assoc Prof Beverley Clarke beverley.clarke at flinders.edu.au by Monday 15 May 2017.  In the subject line of your email please write “IAG Postgraduate Travel Grant Application for the IAG conference for [your name]”.

You must also attach:

(i)     evidence of your registration at the conference;

(ii)    advice of the acceptance of your paper (where available);

(iii)   a copy of your paper’s abstract and title; and

(iv)   proof of your enrolment in either a Masters degree (Research) or a Doctoral degree.

Travel grants are awarded at the discretion of the IAG Council. Whilst the total sum awarded is generous, the amount of each individual grant will vary depending on the number and location of applicants as a tiered system of funding is employed according to distance travelled to and from the event.  In previous years individual grants have rarely exceeded several hundred dollars per applicant. Students are encouraged to pursue other sources of funding support if required.

3. Final Reminder: Call for awards of the IAG 2017

Members are invited to nominate their esteemed colleagues for the following awards:

  *   The GRIFFITH TAYLOR Medal is awarded for distinguished contributions to geography in Australia.
  *   AUSTRALIA-INTERNATIONAL MEDAL is for outstanding contributions by Australian geographers to geography world-wide, or by geographers outside Australia to the geography of Australia.
  *   DISTINGUISHED FELLOWSHIP OF THE INSTITUTE OF AUSTRALIAN GEOGRAPHERS (DFIAG)? is awarded for distinguished service to Australian geography through furthering the aims of the Institute.
  *   The FELLOWSHIP OF THE INSTITUTE OF AUSTRALIAN GEOGRAPHERS (FIAG)  recognizes sustained service to the profession of geography in Australia.

Further details of all awards, including nomination details and requirements, are available from:


The closing date for all nominations is Friday 31 March 2017. Nominations should be sent to the Honorary Secretary, Robyn Bartel, at rbartel at une.edu.au<mailto:rbartel at une.edu.au>

For further enquiries about these awards, please contact either the IAG President, Ian Rutherfurd idruth at unimelb.edu.au<mailto:idruth at unimelb.edu.au> or the Secretary, Robyn Bartel, at rbartel at une.edu.au<mailto:rbartel at une.edu.au>.

Thanks all

Best regards

IAG Honorary Secretary


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.flinders.edu.au/pipermail/iag-list/attachments/20170308/489ed28c/attachment.html>

More information about the Iag-list mailing list