Hi all, 

The Critical Development Study Group has put together an exciting symposium. We are planning to meet up on 15-16th Feb 2016 in nodes around the country and beyond (Canberra, Cairns, Manila, Melbourne, Perth, Wollongong). The nodes will then get-together online to discuss pedagogy, theory and practice in Development Studies. We will have a mix of small group sessions and plenaries where we ‘meet’ up together online. 

Sessions will be focused on pedagogy, theory and community engagement/activism. The draft program is attached. The idea is to be inclusive and participatory.  The workshop will run 11:30-4:30pm (EST)/8:30-1:30 (W.A./the Philippines), 15-16 Feb, 2016.

It doesn’t cost anything to be involved in the seminar and we have organised nodes across the country to try and allow everyone who is interested to be involved – without needing to fly anywhere. The idea is that you go to your nearest node and convene with your local colleagues, and then link to other nodes online. If you are in an area without a node, please let Paul Hodge or me know. 

Please register for the symposium by Monday 8th February, 2016.

How to register?
If you are interested in participating, please fill in the registration form below/attached and email it to Emma.Dawes@newcastle.edu.au and CC your response to your local node organizer listed below (or if you are in a place without a node please just email Emma Dawes directly and CC Paul Hodge Paul.hodge@newcastle.edu.au or Sarah Wright sarah.wright@newcastle.edu.au ). We will then contact you with details about where to meet. 

As you will see, we are asking participants to choose the sessions they would like to participate in (see full draft program and registration form attached). We need to be organised to sort the technology and it is our first go at this kind of format, so please bear with us.

Nodes and node coordinators:
Wollongong (University of Wollongong) – Thomas Birtchnell: tbirtchn@uow.edu.au 
Melbourne (La Trobe, Collins St Campus) – Katherine McKinnon: K.McKinnon@latrobe.edu.au 
Manila (UP) - Joseph Palis: josephpalis@gmail.com or Kristian Saguin: kristiansaguin@gmail.com
Cairns (James Cook Uni) – Lisa Law: lisa.law@jcu.edu.au 
Perth (University of WA/Curtin/Murdoch) – Petra Tschakert: petra.tschakert@uwa.edu.au and Alka Sabharwal: 20486356@student.uwa.edu.au 
Newcastle (UON) – Paul: Paul.Hodge@newcastle.edu.au 
Canberra (ANU) -  Grant Walton: grant.walton@anu.edu.au and Tim Sharp: timothylmsharp@gmail.com.

Thanks so much,

Sarah and Paul 


SARAH WRIGHT
Associate Professor
Discipline of Geography and Environmental Studies

School of Environmental and Life Sciences

I acknowledge the Aboriginal custodians of the land in the region where I live and work, the Gumbaynggirr people and the traditional custodians of Awabakal Country, the Country on which the University of Newcastle stands. I acknowledge the Elders, past, present and future, and Country itself. 

Yaarri garla-ngarraangala, yaarri junga-ngarraangala, jalumgalnyarr yilaa gungangulam jagunda. Yaarri junga-ngarraangala guuyubiin, walaaynga giili.

T: +61 2 4921 7157
E: sarah.wright@newcastle.edu.au

The University of Newcastle (UoN)
University Drive
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

CRICOS Provider 00109J