Congratulations to Darren Smith of the University of Sydney, who has won the 2018 Hakluyt Society (UK) annual essay prize.

The Hakluyt Society (UK) awards an annual essay prize (or two if deemed) of up to a total of 750. The competition is open to any registered graduate student at a higher education institution (a university or equivalent) or to anyone who has been awarded a graduate degree in the past three years. Prize-winners are invited to present a paper on the topic of their essay at a Hakluyt Society Symposium (in which case travel expenses within the UK will be reimbursed) and will also receive a one-year membership of the Society. Submissions for the 2019 prize are now being invited, the deadline for which will be November 2018.
This year's winners
The joint winners of the 2018 essay prize are:
Darren Smith of the University of Sydney, for his essay, 'Ex Typographia Savariana: Franco-Ottoman Relations and the First Oriental Printing Press in Paris'
Whitney Robles of Harvard University, for her essay, '"A Different Species of Resistance": When Corals Became Animals and Animals had History'.

Martin Woods

Curator of Maps, National Library of Australia

Australian Representative, The Hakluyt Society

Canberra ACT 2600 T: 02 6262 1280 | M: 0404193366 |